FRI, AUGUST 22, 2014
City Hall
City Hall
image description image description

Recorder's Office: Elections

Office of City Recorder, Elections Officer
1924 Council Street
P.O. Box 326
Forest Grove, Oregon 97116-0326

City Recorder:  Anna D. Ruggles, CMC
Phone:  503.992.3235
Fax:  503.992.3207

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Business Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

The City of Forest Grove operates under the Council-Manager form of government. The City Council is responsible to the citizens of Forest Grove to establish and direct the policies governing the administration and management of the City.

The City Charter states, "Except as this Charter otherwise provides, all powers of the City are vested in the Council”.  The Council consists of a Mayor and six Councilors each elected at large for four-year terms.  A nominee seeking an elective office must be a registered voter of the State of Oregon and must be a resident of Forest Grove, residing for at least one year immediately preceding an election, and must file by petition and collect 25 certified signatures from Forest Grove registered voters.  The City has no filing fees.  The candidate filing period is no earlier than 120 days before an election and no later than 70 days before an election.  A completed petition, along with the certified signature sheets, must be assembled and filed with the City Recorder as one instrument within the filing period.  City elections are held in accordance with applicable State election laws.  Please call the City Recorder’s Office at 503.992.3235 or via e-mail at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information.


General Election, November 4, 2014:


Council Candidate Filing Forms (Click on link)

November 4, 2014, citizens of Forest Grove will vote to fill Mayor (Mayor Peter Truax is eligible for re-election) and three City Councilor positions (Councilors Thomas Johnston, Camille Miller and Ronald Thompson are eligible for re-election).

Candidate Filing is by Prospective Petition no earlier than 9:00 a.m. July 7, 2014 (120th day before General Election).  

Candidate Signature Sheets may not be circulated until a Prospective Petition is filed with the City Recorder and written approval is received no earlier than the first filing date of 9:00 a.m. July 7, 2014.

Candidate Nomination is by Completed Petition no later than 5:00 p.m. August 26, 2014 (70th day before General Election).


The following candidates are CERTIFIED to have their name published on the ballot for General Election, November 4, 2014 (Filing by Completed Petition is no later than 5:00 p.m. August 26, 2014):




PETER B. TRUAX (Incumbent)



Tom (TJ) Johnston (Incumbent)

Ron Thompson (Incumbent)

Tom Beck

Aldie Howard

Alexander E. LaFollett

Malynda Wenzl



Election Signs City Code Provisions(10.8.820 Temporary Signs)

Temporary election signs may not exceed six (6) square feet each in area during the period from six (6) weeks prior to a public election or the time the election is called, whichever is earlier, to 14 (fourteen) days after the public election.  Temporary signs may only be located on private property, with the permission of property owner, and not within any dedicated public right-of-way.  Signs cannot be placed on power poles, traffic controls, street trees, etc. Avoid vision hazard areas along corners, intersections, fire hydrants, etc. No permit is required for temporary election signs.  Please refer to Code Section 3.910 Obstruction in Public Rights-of-Way.  Civil penalties are imposed for violations of City Code.